Friday, 14 June 2024
07 Dhu al-Hijjah 1445

In 1967, Pejabat Perjawatan Persekutuan was renamed as the Establishment Office of Malaysia. The name Public Service Department(PSD) was first started to be used on 15th August 1968. Since the era of Sir John Huggins in 1934, the position title used by the Head of Administrative Service at that time was the Malayan Establishment Officer.

Meanwhile, when A.J. Gracie held the position in 1954, the title of the position was changed to Federation Establishment Officer. When H.G. Turner replaced Gracie in 1957 and until Tan Sri Ahmad Hj. Husin assumed the position of the Head of Public Sector Service in 1960, the position title used was the Principal Establishment Officer.

In 1962, the title was changed to Ketua Pegawai Perjawatan and remained in use until 1967, which was when Tunku Mohamed Tunku Besar Burhanuddin led the public service. When Tan Sri Abdul Kadir Shamsuddin helmed the leadership, the title was changed again to Pengarah Perjawatan Malaysia in 1968.

Later, it was changed to the Director General of Public Service (KPPA) as used in Service Circular No. 2 of 1968 dated 7th October 1968 and remains in use until today. Since 1st July 1954, PSD has been led by 25 Directors General of Public Service.